My blog review of #roalddahl’s kids book called Georges Marvellous Medicine

Posted on Updated on

Image

My review of Roald Dahl – Georges Marvellous Medicine, illustrated by Quentin Blake

I love Roald Dahl books and this is one of the first of his books that I ever read;

“Georges Marvellous Medicine” that got me hooked!

The book is about a child called George who lives on a farm with his mum, dad and grizzly grandma! He becomes a bit frightened by his horrible grandma and brews up a special medicine for her.

Some of the things that go into the medicine are funny and descriptive, including horrible sheep dip and throat lozenges! I love the way that when he gives grandma the medicine she goes through the roof and the way that Roald Dahl describes her in this part of the book (see below)!!

“small puckered-up mouth like a dog’s bottom”.

It still really makes me smile and laugh when I think about the description.

There isn’t a part of the book that I don’t like, its Roald Dahl at his best!

I can’t believe there are children in my class who haven’t read this book and some adults I know who haven’t read it either! I have told them all to read it straight away, as they won’t be disappointed!

You can tell that I am a fan of his books!

My dad says that ‘Georges Marvellous Medicine’ is probably his second favourite Roald Dahl book, closely second behind ‘The BFG’.

Its definitely in my top four Dahl books!

Leave a Reply

