Introducing my rocky road cakes, substituted with hobnobs… #cooking

Posted on Updated on

My rocky road cakes with hobnobs… sort of…

Today, I made some rocky road cup cakes, well sort of.

I went out to buy the ingredients with my dad but the shop didn’t have any marshmallow’s that I needed.

This was very annoying, so I bought some hobnobs instead. So, I don’t know if there is a name for this recipe, so I am going to call it Hobnob Rocky Road Cakes.

These are some of the ingredients I used:

Image

  • 90g corn flakes (you could use Rice Krispies)
  • 60g margarine (you could use butter)
  • 3 tablespoons of syrup
  • 150g Chocolate
  • 50g raisins
  • 50g biscuit
  • Bun cases

 Ok here is what I did to make them.

  1. I measured out all the ingredients first of all into pots, so I was prepared. The last thing I wanted was to be rushing around and burning things.
  2. I got about 6 hobnobs and put them into several paper towels (weighed about 50g) and smashed them up with a rolling pin. I recommend you get some help with this part, as it can be dangerous. I added the raisins to the biscuit mix (see below).

    Image

  3. Melt the chocolate in a Pyrex jug in some simmering water, so that the chocolate melts in the Pyrex jug without burning. Once the chocolate is almost melted, add margarine until it melts.

    Image

    Image

  4. Add the syrup and stir into the mix. This is a very messy part, you might need two spoons and some help to stop getting syrup everywhere.

    Image

  5. Then add the cornflakes and stir into the mix.

    Image

  6. Then I take the mix off the heat and stir in raisins and broken hobnobs. During this part, I had to transfer into a clean pan, as I ran out of space.

    Image

  7. Spoon the mixture into bun cases – this probably needs two people.

    Image

  8. Final, once the mix is in cases, leave to cool.

    I had to hide my tray of cake’s as my cat Toby thought it was dinner time.

    Cheeky cat

    Image

  9. Finally eat your yummy buns once the buns are cool.

 

 

Leave a Reply

