My book review of The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Posted on Updated on

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I wanted a challenge. All the children in my class are reading “Diary of a Wimpy Kid,” and other such books.

My mum is an English teacher and I asked her for advice on what to read that might be a bit more difficult.

She told me to read ‘The Hunger Games’, by Suzanne Collins.

Image

The comment in my school book (from my teacher) was, “You have chosen a very challenging book! Well done.”

The Hunger game’s is a fiction book, which is written in the first person about the two main characters called Katniss Everdeen and Peter Melark. The two main characters are 14 year olds. They are from a place called District 12. In the different districts, a girl and a boy are chosen to go into The Hunger Games. A game of survival to the very last person. The characters go through a time of great of fancy treatment (to start with) by the organisers of the games before they are set loose. Eventually Katniss teams up with Peter, to take on the games.

For someone like me, this is a tough book. There is lots of technical language and many characters to try and remember. This is good and bad, it makes it more interesting but it makes it more difficult. There are no drawings in this book either to break it up, it is solid reading!

What a wonderful book! The chapters of the book are about fifteen to twenty five pages long which makes it longer to read for a child, so I normally only read a chapter a night. When the chapters end, you just want to read on and on!

The writing style and the different emotions it makes you feel are amazing. Feelings of intensity, danger and sadness make the book very difficult to put down.

I would recommend this book for ages 13 + or maybe a little bit younger like me if the person is passionate about reading and wants a good read.

The beginning of the book was the worst part because it was difficult to get into, but that is not a bad thing for the book – it’s just me being challenged!

I wouldn’t change anything about The Hunger Games.  It is one of my favourite books ever.

I should have another review for the next Hunger Games book (called Catching Fire). Very soon anyway, I can’t put that book down either!

5 thoughts on “My book review of The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

    JackieSmithAuthor said:
    January 8, 2014 at 16:07

    I love the Hunger Games so much! My second favorite series (after Harry Potter of course).

      heatherellisbooks responded:
      January 8, 2014 at 19:51

      Awesome aren’t they! I think Harry Potter is next on my list ! =)

        JackieSmithAuthor said:
        January 9, 2014 at 02:32

        They are awesome but Harry is the best. Always and forever! 🙂

    Author_4_U said:
    January 28, 2014 at 16:18

    First of all: thank you for following me, I am truly honored.
    Second: I am impressed with you and with your success in authoring books.
    Keep up the great work, we need more “Book worms” in today’s society, it is a badge of honor to be a lover of literature:)

      heatherellisbooks responded:
      January 28, 2014 at 16:20

      You’re welcome and thank you ! I like your blog as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

