Kids Review of The Hunger Games Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Posted on Updated on

I enjoyed the first ‘Hunger Games’ book, by Suzanne Collins so much that I had to pick up the second book of the shelf straight away. The Second Book is called “The Hunger Games – Catching Fire”.

catchingfire

The comment in my school book (from my teacher) this time was, “Excellent that you have been reading this book. What fantastic descriptions of what you are reading.”

The Hunger game’s series of books is fiction, and written in the first person. It is about the two main characters called Katniss Everdeen and Peter Melark. At the end of first book, Katniss forces the changes of the rules in The Hunger Games. In the second book intruders go into District 12 (the district where they lived) and it was completely destroyed by the intruders, many of the people died. Anyway – Katniss Everdeen and Peter Melark (still the main characters from the first book) had to go back into the games again because President Snow has an evil plan to destroy Katniss. I don’t want to ruin the story but she breaks the Hunger Games, Peter and a load of others launch a rescue mission. Then next… well… next, I don’t know because the book leaves you on a cliff hanger, which forces you to read the next one! Argh!

It is a superb book! I normally only read a chapter a night – It took me about two weeks so read! When the chapters end, you just want to read on and on!

Another tough book for someone my age to read. There are still lots of technical language and many characters to try and remember (like the first book). There is a lot going on in the book, which keeps you interested at every page turn.

The writing flair and the different feelings it makes you feel are astonishing. As a reader it makes you feel happy, dangerous and blue all at the same time.

I would recommend this book for ages 13 + It’s a bit more gruesome than the first book, in my opinion though. If the person is passionate about reading though and wants a good read then I would have a go.

I wouldn’t change anything about The Hunger Games Catching Fire. I should have another review for the next Hunger Games book (called MockingJay). I am desperate to know what happens to them next time!

Leave a Reply

