International Book Giving Day Today

Posted on Updated on

Have you ever heard of International Book Giving Day?

International Book Giving Day’s effort is encouraging people worldwide to give a book to a child on February 14th (Today!)

They invite individuals to: 

1) give a book to a friend or family member.
2) leave a book in a waiting room for children to read.
3) donate a gently used book to a local library, hospital or shelter or to an organization that distributes used books to children in need internationally.

I heard about International Book Giving Day via Emma at http://www.mybookcorner.com.au (who is one of the volunteers helping to organise it).

Image

So this is my children’s book that I wrote last year called The Sugary-Sherburts and The Stone Witch.

Image

 

As part of International Book Giving Day I donated a copy book to some children’s hospitals in England.

I have posted copies to the following children’s hospitals in England:

Great Ormond Street Hospital Children’s Hospital.
Leeds Hospital Children’s Ward.
The Evelina Children’s Hospital Wards.

Here are the books in their envelopes about to go to the post office for posting.

Image

I really hope that my books make the time go a bit easier, and a lot quicker for the poorly children on the wards of these hospitals.

Are you taking part in International Book Giving Day today?

7 thoughts on “International Book Giving Day Today

    alibaaabi said:
    February 14, 2014 at 15:04

    With all the comotion of valentines day I completly forgot about book giving day, thanks for reminding me 🙂 Also fits in with my campaign, If anyone would like to donate to the muungano community in kenya take a look at my campaign. The orphange and school will be kitted out with books from all around the world. Im still waiting for the lucky first donation if anyone would be so kind 🙂 You can follow my fundraising efforts here http://alibuckley50.wordpress.com/ and my campaign here
    http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/send-alison-and-liam-off-to-kenya.

    Thanks for reading,
    Ali

      heatherellisbooks responded:
      February 14, 2014 at 15:25

      That’s ok thanks for popping by – What a lovely idea =) I will follow your campaign

    perryemma said:
    February 14, 2014 at 15:46

    Fab post. The kids are going to love your books.

    Thanks for your support of International Book Giving Day.

    Warmly,
    Emma

    Lexie said:
    February 17, 2014 at 19:46

    I wish I’d found out about IBGD earlier.

    PAULSON LOVES BOOKS said:
    February 17, 2014 at 19:50

    I am sorry it took a week to get back to your blog, my daughters birthday is Valentine’s Day! I did not know of this campaign, but even as I missed it I do donate to the library which is located down the street from me, walking distance. Great idea to have a day for donating books.

      heatherellisbooks responded:
      February 17, 2014 at 20:19

      Donating is lovely isn’t it? I only heard about book giving day a few weeks ago. =)

Leave a Reply

